The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 concluded on Sunday. Australia defeated India in the finals by six wickets to clinch their sixth ODI World Cup title. The tournament saw some amazing performances from some world-class players and ICC has released its official team of the tournament for the Cricket World Cup 2023. The team released by ICC has six Indian players in the XI.

The World Cup saw some spectacular performances from players across the globe. Many records were created in this World Cup and overall it was an amazing tournament to witness. Australia clinched their sixth World Cup title while India came so close to a trophy win but succumbed to the big-match pressure and couldn’t cross the final hurdle.

ICC Releases Team Of The Tournament For CWC 23

The ICC’s Team Of The Tournament for Cricket World Cup 2023 is as follows:

Quinton de Kock (wk):

The South African southpaw finds a place at the top order. Quinton de Kock scored 594 runs in 10 innings with an average of 59.40. He scored four centuries in the tournament which is the most by any South African player in the single edition of the tournament.

Rohit Sharma (c):

The Indian Skipper is the other opener and also the captain of the team as selected by ICC. Rohit Sharma had a terrific run in this tournament. He finished as the second-highest run scorer of the tournament with 597 runs in 11 innings averaging 54.27. Rohit slammed three half-centuries and a century in this World Cup and managed to score 40+ 9 out of 11 times in the tournament providing a flying start to the innings

Virat Kohli:

The Player of the tournament and the highest run-getter of the tournament is the next on the list. He will be the No.3 of this team. Virat Kohli scored 765 runs in 11 innings with a stunning average of 95.62, and he slammed three centuries and six half-centuries in this tournament. He created the World record for scoring the most runs in a single edition of the World Cup going past Sachin Tendulkar’s record of 673.

Daryl Mitchell:

New Zealand’s only entrance in the team of the tournament, Daryl Mitchell scored 552 runs at an average of 69 in the tournament. Daryl Mitchell scored both of his centuries against India but sadly both came in a losing cause.

KL Rahul:

Another Wicketkeeper on the team gets on board at No.5, KL Rahul had a more than decent tournament with the bat and also with the gloves. KL Rahul scored 452 runs averaging 75.33. He scored two half-centuries and a century in this tournament.

Glenn Maxwell:

The crisis man for Australia and a handy spin bowling all-rounder, Glenn Maxwell scored 400 runs at an average of 66.66. He also took six wickets at an average of 55 in the tournament. Maxwell scored a double-hundred against Afghanistan which helped Australia to win the match after being down 91/7.

Ravindra Jadeja:

Another spin bowling all-rounder makes the list, Ravindra Jadeja scored 120 runs at an average of 40 and picked 16 wickets in the tournament including a five-wicket haul against South Africa. Jadeja has also been one of the best fielders in the tournament.

Jasprit Bumrah:

Leading the pace-attack, Jasprit Bumrah marks his way in the ICC Team of the Tournament. Bumrah picked 20 wickets in the tournament at an average of 18.65.

Dilshan Madhushanka:

The only Sri Lankan who made it into the team, Dilshan Madhushanka had a terrific tournament, unlike the rest of his team. The left-arm pacer from the Island nation picked 21 wickets at an average of 25 in the tournament including a five-wicket haul against India.

Adam Zampa:

The Australian leg-spinner had a terrific tournament after starting a bit sloppy with the ball. Adam Zampa picked 23 wickets and broke Muttiah Muralitharan’s record of most wickets in a World Cup edition by a spinner.

Mohammed Shami:

The leading wicket-taker in this tournament comes in at No.11. Mohammed Shami took 23 wickets in just seven matches at an unbelievable average of 10.70.

Gerald Coetzee (12th Player):

South Africa’s young pacer lit up the tournament with 20 wickets to his name at an average of 19.80. He was selected as the 12th player in ICC’s Team of the Tournament.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 concludes with Australia being the champions. It will return after four years in 2027 when South Africa and Zimbabwe will host the tournament.

#Indians #Rohit #Sharma #Captain #Australians #ICC #Announces #Team #ICC #World #Cup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *