The 34-year-old Australia National Cricket Team batting all-rounder Marcus Stoinis was declared out controversially by the third umpire Richard Kettleborough in the 10th match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.

The Pat Cummins-led Australia National Cricket Team are taking on Temba Bavuma-led South Africa National Cricket Team in the 10th match of ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow on Thursday, October 12.

A massive controversy erupted in the match when the third umpire made a strange decision against Marcus Stoinis and declared the all-rounder out.

On the second ball of the 18th over, Kagiso Rabada bowled a back-of-a-length delivery that went down the leg and Stoinis only managed to get some gloves on it. The ball went behind the stumps where Quinton de Kock completed a good catch, but the on-field umpire signaled not out.

Then, South Africa opted for a review and the question was only about the edge as the catch looked clean. The replays showed that the bottom hand of Stoinis was off his bat handle when the ball made contact with his glove.

However, the third umpire Richard Kettleborough said that the bottom hand of the batsman was connected to the top hand and therefore it was in contact with the bat. He declared Marcus Stoinis out and the on-field umpires as well as the Australia batter were in utter disbelief after the decision.

“His bottom hand is connected to his top hand. Therefore, in contact with the bat and we’ve got a clear spike. Joel (Wilson), I’m gonna have to ask you to overturn your original decision to ‘Out’,” said Kettleborough during the review procedure.

That’s a really odd one there – Nasser Hussain on Marcus Stoinis’ controversial dismissal

Looking at Marcus Stoinis go back to the hut after scoring 5 runs off 4 balls following the controversial decision of the third umpire, the fans and experts were left shocked. Nasser Hussain, who was on-air, labeled the decision as an odd one.

“That’s a really odd one there. He gloved it. It looked like his one hand is off the handle. The third umpire said that the bottom hand is attached to the top hand. Stoinis feels his bottom hand was off the handle and not touching the top hand, [but] the third umpire thought different,” said Nasser Hussain on air.

Former Australia captain Aaron Finch was also surprised and he felt that the decision was surprising.

“If you look at the split screen there, the bottom hand is a long way away from that top hand. Strange decision,” said Aaron Finch in the commentary box.

Watch The Clip Here:

#AUS #Watch #Marcus #Stoinis #Declared #Controversially #Umpire #Strange #Decision #World #Cup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *