Former Indian World Cup-winning captain Kapil Dev made a shocking revelation ahead of the ICC World Cup 2023 final between India and Australia. Kapil Dev disclosed that he hasn’t received an invitation from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for the final.

Kapil Dev led India to the first ODI World Cup victory by defeating the mighty West Indies in the final in 1983. India emerged as the winners despite being considered underdogs. The World Cup win played a pivotal role in elevating cricket’s popularity in the country.

Sometimes People Forget – Kapil Dev

Speaking to ABP News ahead of the India-Australia final, Kapil Dev revealed that he hasn’t been invited to the World Cup final between India and Australia. Kapil expressed his desire to have his entire 1983 World Cup-winning team present at the final of the marquee event.

“You called me, I came here. Unhone nahi bulaya, mein nahi gaya (the BCCI didn’t call me, I didn’t go). As simple as that. I wanted my whole 1983 World Cup team to be there. But there is so much work going on, there’s so much responsibility, sometimes people forget,” Kapil told ABP News.

BCCI Set To Organize A Grand Closing Ceremony For Final

The Rohit Sharma-led team is scheduled to take on the Pat Cummins-led side at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday, November 19. As per reports, the BCCI will honor former World Cup-winning captains with special blazers during the innings break.

News reports emerged that nine former World Cup-winning captains, including Clive Lloyd, Kapil Dev, Allan Border, Arjuna Ranatunga, Steve Waugh, Ricky Ponting, MS Dhoni, Michael Clarke, and Eoin Morgan, are expected to be present at the world’s largest stadium.

BCCI organized a grand closing ceremony for the final, featuring a salute from the Indian Air Force with a nine-hawk acrobatic display. A light and laser show is planned during the second drinks break of the second innings. The event will conclude with a drone show, deploying 1,200 drones to create an aerial champion board for the victorious team.

World Cup Winning Captains: Clive Lloyd (1975, 1979- West Indies), Kapil Dev (1983 – India), Allan Border (1987 – Australia), Imran Khan (1992- Pakistan), Arjuna Ranatunga (1996 – Sri Lanka), Steve Waugh (1999 – Australia), Ricky Ponting (2003, 2007 – Australia), MS Dhoni (2011 – India), Michael Clarke (2015 – Australia) and Eoin Morgan (2019 – England).

Also read: “You Changes virat Kohli When He Lost To Pakistan..”- Sikander Bakht’s Open Challenge To Kapil Dev




#BCCI #Didnt #Call #Me.. #Kapil #Dev #Shocking #Revelation #Ahead #World #Cup #Final

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *