Georgia Wareham’s all-round performance saw Australia outclass Bangladesh by 58 runs in the second T20I held at the Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, on Tuesday, April 2. The Alyssa Healy-led side extended their lead to 2-0 in the three-match series, following their earlier 10-wicket win in the opening game.

After opting to bat first upon winning the toss, Australia encountered an early setback when opener Phoebe Litchfield fell to Fariha Trisna’s delivery in the third over. Nonetheless, Grace Harris and Wareham led the charge and forged a 91-run partnership for the second wicket. Wareham’s aggressive knock of 57 off 30 deliveries, studded with 10 boundaries, was brought to an end by left-arm spinner, Nahida Akter. Harris, on the other hand, contributed with 47 off 36 balls before being dismissed by Fahima Khatun. 

As the game progressed, Ellyse Perry scored a brisk 29 off 22 balls as Australia posted a competitive total of 161 runs. Trisna was the pick of bowlers for Bangladesh, claiming three more wickets to end with impressive figures of 4/19, while Akter and Khatun added one wicket each to their tally.

Following that, Bangladesh’s batting lineup crumbled from the beginning of their chase, encountering a relentless attack from Australian bowlers.  Ashleigh Gardner and Sophie Molineux wreaked havoc, claiming three-wicket hauls each and shattering Bangladesh’s aspirations of winning the game. Australia thereby restricted Bangladesh to a below-par 103 runs, ultimately clinching victory by a significant margin of 58 runs. Megan Schutt and Georgia Wareham also showcased their bowling prowess, claiming two and one wickets, respectively. Notably, none of Bangladesh’s batters managed to score at least 30 runs, resulting in the upset they faced. 

Here’s how the fans reacted to Australia’s win over Bangladesh in the second T20I:

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:

#Georgia #Wareham #stars #Australia #women #thrash #Bangladesh #gain #unassailable #lead #T20I #series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *