ICC World Cup Ranking: The much-awaited ICC World Cup 2023 is just a handful of months away. The 13th edition of the quadrennial event is scheduled to be played in October-November. For the very first time, India will be hosting the tournament as the sole host. In the past, India had co-hosted the competition as many as three times – 1987, 1996, and 2011.

ICC World Cup 2023 Teams and Formats:

A total of 10 teams will be taking part in the upcoming edition of the ICC World Cup or the ICC Men’s Cricket World. The format of the competition will be similar to the 2019 edition – a round-robin stage followed by the knockouts.

In the round-robin stage, each team will play against the other nine teams once. A team will receive 2 points for a win while a no-result will see both teams getting one point each. The top four teams will then make it to the semifinals. The first-placed team will lock horns against the fourth-placed team in the semifinal while the second and third-placed teams will be up against each other for a place in the title decider.

ICC World Cup Teams:

Ten teams are participating in the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023. While India has booked their place in the competition as hosts, the other nine teams will have to do it through qualification events. The main route to the ICC World Cup is the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. The top seven sides in the competition along with hosts India have sealed an automatic qualification for the marquee event.

The remaining two spots will be decided by a qualifier event scheduled to take place in Zimbabwe in June-July.  The five remaining teams on the Super League table, the top three teams from ICC Cricket World Cup League 2, and the top two teams from the 2023 World Cup Qualifier Playoff will be taking part in the qualifier.

Hosts India and England, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and South Africa have booked their spots for the ICC World Cup from the Super League. On the other hand, Ireland, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Nepal, Oman, Scotland, United Arab Emirates, and the United States will be taking part in the Qualifiers for the remaining two spots.

ICC World Cup Ranking:

The ICC World Cup Ranking or the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League Standings has been finalized following the conclusion of the three-match ODI series between Ireland and Bangladesh. The league got underway in July 2020 and ended in May 2023.

A total of 13 teams featured in the Super League-12 Full Members of the ICC and the Netherlands, who qualified for the event after winning the 2015–17 ICC World Cricket League Championship. Each team earned 10 points for a win, five for a tie/no result/abandoned match, and zero for a loss.

Coming to the ICC World Cup Ranking, New Zealand have finished as the top-ranked side with 175 points. Reigning 50-over world champions England and Bangladesh are second and third on the list with 155 points followed by India and Pakistan who have 139 and 130 points respectively.

ICC World Cup Ranking:

Rank Team Matches Won Lost Tied No result Points NRR Penalty Overs
1 New Zealand (Q) 24 16 5 0 3 175 0.914  
2 England (Q) 24 15 8 0 1 155 0.976  
3 Bangladesh (Q) 24 15 8 0 1 155 0.22  
4 India (hosts) (Q) 21 13 6 0 2 139 0.782 1
5 Pakistan (Q) 21 13 8 0 0 130 0.108  
6 Australia (Q) 18 12 6 0 0 120 0.785  
7 Afghanistan (Q) 15 11 3 0 1 115 0.573  
8 South Africa (Q) 21 9 10 2 2 98 -0.077 2
9 West Indies 24 9 15 0 0 88 -0.738 2
10 Sri Lanka 24 7 14 0 3 81 -0.369 4
11 Ireland 24 6 15 0 3 73 -0.357 2
12 Zimbabwe 24 6 17 0 1 65 -0.952  
13 Netherlands 24 3 20 0 1 35 -1.091  

#ICC #World #Cup #Ranking #ICC #Ranking #World #Cup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *