India put on a fantastic show to outplay archrivals Pakistan by seven wickets in the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Saturday, October 14. With this win, the Men in Blue extended an 8-0 winning streak against Pakistan in ODI World Cups.

India, who had won the toss and decided to bat second, quickly reached the modest 192-run target in just 30.3 overs. India got off to a solid start during the chase, with Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill opening the innings. However, pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi has provided Pakistan an early breakthrough in the third over, dismissing Gill (16), who has made a return to the playing XI after missing the side’s opening games against Australia and Afghanistan, respectively.

The duo of Rohit and Virat Kohli ensured the command of the chase despite losing an early wicket. The Men in Green, however, were able to exhale with relief as Hasan Ali dismissed the former India captain after he mistimed his pull shot and was caught at mid-on. Shreyas Iyer then joined Rohit when India were two down at 79 runs.

Rohit stood firm as he raced to his half-century in just 36 balls. However, he lost his wicket while facing a slower ball from Shaheen Afridi in the 22nd over. Despite missing his record-extending 8th ODI century at the World Cup, the 36-year-old produced an outstanding knock of 63-ball 86 runs, including six boundaries and as many maximums. Later, Iyer struck his 15th half-century with a four as India chased down the target in 30.3 overs.

Earlier, Indian bowlers ripped the Pakistan batters as the Men in Blue bundled out Babar Azam and Co. by 191 runs in just 42.5 overs. Jasprit Bumrah was the pick of bowlers who finished with excellent figures of 2/19 in his seven-over spell. The ace speedster dismissed the in-form Mohammad Rizwan (49) and all-rounder Shadab Khan to help India gain control of the game.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam top-scored for his side, scoring 50 off 58 deliveries with the help of seven boundaries. Meanwhile, Mohammed Siraj, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, and Ravindra Jadeja each took two wickets for the two-time champions.

Here’s how X reacted for India’s win:

#India #ride #momentum #wave #Pakistan #demolition #job #crickets #Colosseum #dreams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *