New Zealand announced a 14-member squad for the three-match T20I series against Australia on Tuesday, February 13. All rounders Josh Clarkson and Rachin Ravindra have earned their maiden call-up in the format while fast bowler Trent Boult has marked his return in the shortest format after November 2022.

The left-arm seamer will be available for the second and third games of the series to replace Tim Southee whose workload will be managed ahead of the Test series against Australia. All Rounder Daryl Mitchell has missed out due to foot injury while star batter Kane Williamson is on paternity leave.

Furthermore, Michael Bracewell was unavailable for selection due to a finger injury while Jimmy Neesham is playing in Bangladesh Premier League 2024.

“It’s never ideal missing two of your best players for such a big series, but in saying that, we do have a lot of faith in the guys coming in. Both Josh and Rachin have been in our white-ball squads this summer and it’s really exciting for them to now get this opportunity,” said selector Sam Wells.

“Josh hits the ball as long and as hard as anyone and we were encouraged by his performances with the ball in his maiden ODI series against Bangladesh before Christmas. Rachin’s talent and class has been clear to all over the past six months, and similar to Josh, it’s great to have his all-round skill-set to call on in this squad,” he added.

New Zealand T20I squad vs Australia

Mitchell Santner (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult (games 2 & 3), Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson , Devon Conway (wk), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (game 1)

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:

#Zealand #announce #squad #Australia #T20Is #Trent #Boult #returns #months

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *