In a recent turn of events, the Bangladesh Cricket Board has unveiled its squad for the upcoming white-ball series against Sri Lanka, set to kick off on March 4. The headline-grabbing news is the omission of Shakib Al Hasan, the former captain, from the squad, signaling a shift in leadership dynamics.

The action-packed series will commence with the T20Is, with the initial two matches slated for March 4 and 6 in Sylhet. The final T20 clash is set for March 9 in Chattogram. Subsequently, Chattogram will host all three ODIs on March 13, 15, and 18. The cricketing extravaganza will then return to Sylhet for the commencement of the first Test on March 22, followed by the last game in Chattogram with the second Test starting on March 30.

The T20I squad is a balanced blend of seasoned players and emerging talents, featuring stalwarts like Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, and Mustafizur Rahman. Meanwhile, the ODI lineup, declared for the initial two matches, sees Najmul Hossain Shanto leading a formidable side, including the experienced Mushfiqur Rahim and pace sensation Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

T20I squad:
Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Liton Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Naim Sheikh, Towhid Hridoy, Soumya Sarkar, Mahedi Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad, Taijul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Aliss Al Islam

ODI squad (for 1st & 2nd ODIs):
Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Anamul Haque Bijoy, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mustafizur Rahman

Leadership Transition: Shakib steps down, paving the Way for Najmul 

Recently, It was announced that Najmul has been appointed as the captain across all formats, replacing Shakib. The decision was announced as Shakib gracefully stepped aside due to a vision ailment affecting the retina of his left eye. 

Also Read: Shakib al Hasan diagnosed with retinal condition in left eye

BCB President Nazmul Hassan explained that after thorough discussions, there was an agreement to appoint Najmul Hossain Shanto as the captain for Bangladesh in all three formats for the upcoming year.

“We discussed about captaincy at length…after the lengthy discussion, we reached in consensus to appoint Najmul Hossain Shanto as the captain of Bangladesh in all three formats for this year,” BCB president Nazmul Hassan said after a board meeting, as quoted by CricToday.

Shanto, who previously served as the interim captain during Shakib’s absence, is now set to lead the team across all formats. Notably, Shanto’s captaincy stint in 2023 saw remarkable victories, particularly against New Zealand. His leadership prowess shone through as Bangladesh secured their maiden ODI and T20 triumphs against the Kiwis on their own turf, making him a promising choice for the captaincy role.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:

#place #Shakib #Hasan #Bangladesh #declare #squads #Sri #Lanka #series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *