The cricketing world is abuzz with excitement as India gears up to take on Afghanistan in the 9th match of the ODI World Cup 2023. Scheduled for October 11 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, this clash promises to be a thrilling encounter between two formidable teams.

India enters this contest with momentum on their side. In their previous match, the hosts pulled off an impressive victory against the five-time champions, Australia. Chasing a target of 200 runs, India faced early setbacks but made a stunning comeback, thanks to the brilliant partnership between Virat Kohli and KL Rahul. India will be looking to carry forward this winning momentum into the match against Afghanistan.

On the other hand, Afghanistan had a tough start to their campaign in the ODI World Cup 2023. They faced a comprehensive defeat at the hands of Bangladesh. Their batting lineup struggled against the spin bowling prowess of Bangladesh, managing to post just 156 runs. Afghanistan’s bowlers did pick up early wickets in the opposition’s innings, but they couldn’t halt the chase, allowing Bangladesh to secure an easy win 

For India, Virat Kohli and KL Rahul will be the key players to watch. Their exceptional partnership in the previous match showcased their ability to anchor the innings and guide the team to victory. In the bowling department, Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah will be crucial in providing breakthroughs and maintaining pressure on the Afghan batting lineup.

Afghanistan’s hopes will likely rest on the shoulders of Rahmanullah Gurbaz, their wicket-keeper batter who showed promise in the opening game. Afghanistan will also rely on their spin bowling resources, including Rashid Khan, to make an impact in the match.

Match Details

Date: October 11, 2023

Time: 2:00 PM IST

Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Live Streaming:

  • Live Streaming will be available on Hotstar.
  • TV Broadcast: Star Sports Network will broadcast the match.

Probable XIs:


– Rohit Sharma (c)

– Ishan Kishan

– Virat Kohli

– Shreyas Iyer

– KL Rahul (wk)

– Hardik Pandya

– Ravindra Jadeja

– Ravichandran Ashwin

– Kuldeep Yadav

– Jasprit Bumrah

– Mohammed Siraj


– Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk)

– Ibrahim Zadran

– Rahmat Shah

– Hashmatullah Shahidi (c)

– Najibullah Zadran

– Mohammad Nabi

– Azmatullah Omarzai

– Rashid Khan

– Naveen-ul-Haq

– Fazalhaq Farooqi

– Mujeeb Ur Rahman



Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Alikhil, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Abdul Rahman, Naveen ul Haq.


Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav.


Afghanistan has never managed to defeat India in an ODI match, making India the clear favorite going into this encounter. However, cricket is known for its unpredictability, and Afghanistan will be eager to pull off an upset and register their first-ever ODI win against the former champions.

Weather and Pitch Conditions:

The weather in Delhi is expected to be pleasant, with no rain predicted. The pitch at Arun Jaitley Stadium has historically favored batsmen, offering good bounce and pace. Spinners may come into play in the later stages of the match. Captains winning the toss may opt to bat first and set a competitive total on the board.

In conclusion, the India vs Afghanistan clash promises to be a thrilling contest between two talented sides. While India holds the upper hand on paper, Afghanistan’s determination and the unpredictable nature of cricket mean that anything can happen on the day. Cricket fans worldwide eagerly await this exciting showdown in the ODI World Cup 2023.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

#ODI #World #Cup #India #Afghanistan #Match #Preview

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *