Australia clinched their sixth title in the ICC Cricket World Cup, outclassing India by six wickets in the final showdown at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on November 19, Sunday. Led by Pat Cummins, the Australian team restricted Rohit Sharma and Co. to a below-par total of 240 runs after winning the toss and opting to bowl first.

India initiated their defence strongly, with Mohammed Shami, the tournament’s leading wicket-taker, dismissing David Warner for seven in the first delivery of the second over. Jasprit Bumrah then provided another breakthrough for India, as he sent back Mitchell Marsh for just 15 runs in the fifth over of the game. Bumrah continued his impact in the seventh over, securing the wicket of ace Australian batter Steven Smith.

India received a glimmer of hope as the bowlers successfully dismissed Australia’s formidable top-order batters. However, opener Travis Head took charge of Australia’s innings, forming a pivotal 192-run partnership for the fourth wicket with Marnus Labuschagne. Head’s impressive innings of 137 off 120, combined with Labuschagne’s unbeaten 58, guided the Kangaroos to victory with 42 balls to spare.

Earlier, India got off to a promising start despite losing an early wicket of Shubamn Gill, who boasted a fantastic record in Ahmedabad across formats.ย Rohit Sharma anchored the innings with a solid 47-run knock off 31 balls before falling to Maxwell, narrowly missing a well-deserved half-century.

Following the dismissals of Rohit and the in-form Shreyas Iyer in consecutive overs, Virat Kohli came in all guns blazing. Kohli and KL Rahul then stabilised India’s innings, both notching up respective half-centuries. However, Australia captain, Pat Cummins, claimed the crucial wicket of the former India captain as he departed for 54 off 63 balls.

KL Rahul, endeavouring to anchor the innings, faced another setback when Ravindra Jadeja, promoted ahead of Suryakumar Yadav, fell for just nine runs. The wicketkeeper-batter contributed a crucial 66 off 107 balls before being dismissed by Starc, who secured his second wicket. In the final stretch, Mohammed Siraj and Kuldeep Yadav added 14 runs for the last wicket, as India was eventually bundled out for 240 in 50 overs.

Here’s how X reacted for Australia’s win:

#Pace #Travis #difference #Australia #clinch #sixth #World #Cup #title

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *