While the world will spread love on Valentine’s Day, Afghanistan and Sri Lanka will fight against each other in the final ODI encounter. The SL vs AFG 3rd ODI will take place on Wednesday, February 14. Pallekele International Cricket Stadium will host the SL vs AFG 3rd ODI clash.

Hashmatullah Shahidi leads Afghanistan in the SL vs AFG ODI series. However, he has largely failed to drive the team to success against the hosts. Afghanistan have lost both the opening ODI clashes and have already lost the series before the climax encounter.

Afghanistan bowled first in both games and their bowlers failed to outplay the Sri Lanka batters. In the SL vs AFG opening ODI encounter, Pathum Nissanka shattered an unbeaten double ton to send the Afghan bowlers on the back. With 381 on the board in 1st innings, Sri Lanka won the match by 42 runs.

Also Read: Afghanistan squad for Sri Lanka T20Is announced, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman ruled out

In the 2nd ODI, Sri Lanka opted to bat first and piled up 308-6 in the 1st innings, thanks to their outstanding teamwork. Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, and Janith Liyanage shattered the fifties after openers Pathum Nissanka and Avishka Fernando got out cheaply.

Afghanistan lost opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz cheaply during the chase. However, Ibrahim Zadran (54) and Rahmat Shah (63) offered a stunning start to batting. However, middle-order batters Hashmatullah Shahidi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, and Ikram Alikhil lost their wickets like a house of cards. They all got out for single digits.

Also Read: “After we came back from World Cup…” – Charith Asalanka wants batting-friendly pitches in Sri Lanka

SL vs AFG Match Preview- 3rd ODI, 2024

Sri Lanka

Kusal Mendis is the captain of Sri Lanka in SL vs AFG ODI series. After two games, Pathum Nissanka is the highest run-getter for the team with 228 runs. Charith Asalanka is next with 104 runs while Sadeera Samarawickrama accounts for 97 runs.

In bowling, Pramod Madushan is the leading wicket-taker for the side with 5 scalps. Wanindu Hasaranga is next with 4 scalps. He went wicketless in the opening game but made a strong comeback with a 4-wicket haul in the previous match. Avishka Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, and Dasun Madushanka have got 2 wickets each.

SL Squad: Kusal Mendis (C & WK), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Asitha Fernando, Pramod Madushan, Shevon Daniel, Chamika Karunaratne, Akila Dananjaya, Sahan Arachchige, Dunith Wellalage.

Also Read: Sri Lanka squad for Afghanistan T20I series announced, Dushmantha Chameera ruled out


Hashmatullah Shahidi is the skipper of Afghanistan in the SL vs AFG ODI series. Azmatullah Omarzai has mustered the most 152 runs for the team across 2 games. Mohammad Nabi has added 137 runs. They also slammed centuries in the opening match.

Azmatullah Omarzai is the leading wicket-taker for the side with 3 wickets. Fareed Ahmad has hunted 2 wickets in 1 match. Qais Ahmad, Mohammad Nabi, Noor Ahmad, and Fazalhaq Farooqi have got 1 wicket each.

Also Read: Pathum Nissanka leaves behind Virender Sehwag, Chris Gayle to register historic feat after sensational double century

AFG Squad: Hashmatullah Shahidi (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Ikram Alikhil (WK), Noor Ahmad, Qais Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Riaz Hassan, Naveed Zadran.

#AFG #Match #Preview #3rd #ODI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *