Suryakumar Yadav is all set to captain India in the five-match T20I series against Australia as per the reports in Cricbuzz. This comes after Hardik Pandya was ruled out after facing an injury in the ICC World Cup 2023. 

The Indian squad, which played in the World Cup final will be rested and it’ll be an opportunity for young players who played in the series against Ireland. Apart from the players, the coaching staff will be rested as well and VVS Laxman will be the head coach for the five-game series. 

The reports in Cricbuzz also suggested that selectors consider making Shreyas Iyer the captain. But they didn’t move forward with it, considering the workload he has taken over the last few months. Prasidh Krishna, who came in as a replacement for Hardik Pandya in the World Cup, is also likely to be there. 

The selectors met in Ahmedabad on Monday (20th November) and discussed the team. It is likely that they will be giving young players more opportunities as they want to build a core for the next T20 World Cup, set to take place in June next year in the Caribbean and USA. 

It’ll be a great opportunity for Suryakumar Yadav to shut all the noise around him. He received a lot of flake after his poor performances in the ICC World Cup 2023. The batter failed drastically and couldn’t get going at all. He couldn’t live up to his expectations. 

Suryakumar Yadav would be hoping to regain his form and lead from the front. It’ll be a massive opportunity for him to captain the young side. He will be crucial for the team going into the World Cup 2023. 

IND vs AUS: Schedule of India vs Australia T20I series 

The series between India and Australia will kick start on 23rd November at Visakhapatnam. The second game will be played on 26th November in Thiruvananthapuram. The focus will then shift to the third game that will be played on 28th November in the 3rd T20I. The last two games of the series will be played on December 1st and December 3rd in Nagpur and Hyderabad respectively. 

Here’s the schedule of IND vs AUS T20I series 

1st T20I – November 23: Visakhapatnam  2nd T20I – November 26: 3rd T20I – November 28: Guwahati: 4th T20I – December 1: Nagpur: 5th T20I – December 3: Hyderabad

#Suryakumar #Yadav #Set #Captain #T20I #Series #Australia #Reports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *